77 Cities Recognized As a ‘City of Civility’ During Annual Convention

June 29, 2023

Georgia Municipal Association Becomes 1st Organization of Civility


The inaugural group of 77 cities with the “City of Civility” designation and the first Organization of Civility were recognized on June 26 during the Georgia Municipal Association annual convention awards luncheon.  The Georgia Municipal Association becomes the first Organization of Civility.  

The EMBRACE Civility initiative was established by GMA in 2023 to encourage municipal elected officials to acknowledge their responsibility in modeling open, free, and vigorous debate while maintaining the highest standards of civility, honesty, and mutual respect not only with each other but with those they serve.   

 Becoming a City of Civility involves adopting a civility resolution that meets the recommendations approved by the GMA Board of Directors, as well as agreeing to the civility pledge and practicing the nine pillars of civility, which you see listed on the screen.   

In April, the GMA Board expanded the EMBRACE Civility initiative to include local government non-profit associations. These organizations are eligible to seek designation as an Organization of Civility by meeting the same criteria as cities.  The following cities were recognized: 

  1. City of Acworth  
  2. City of Adel  
  3. City of Alapaha  
  4. City of Albany  
  5. Athens-Clarke County  
  6. City of Barnesville  
  7. City of Brookhaven  
  8. City of Brunswick  
  9. City of Butler  
  10. City of Byron  
  11. City of Canton  
  12. City of Chamblee  
  13. City of Clarkston  
  14. City of Clayton  
  15. City of College Park  
  16. City of Conyers  
  17. City of Coolidge  
  18. City of Cordele  
  19. City of Cornelia  
  20. City of Covington  
  21. City of Dallas  
  22. City of Decatur  
  23. City of Demorest  
  24. City of Dillard  
  25. City of Donalsonville  
  26. City of Doraville  
  27. City of Douglasville  
  28. City of Duluth  
  29. City of Dunwoody  
  30. City of East Point  
  31. City of Folkston  
  32. City of Forsyth  
  33. City of Franklin  
  34. Town of Geneva  
  35. Town of Good Hope  
  36. City of Grantville  
  37. City of Grovetown  
  38. City of Hampton  
  39. City of Hapeville  
  40. City of Hiawassee  
  41. City of Hinesville  
  42. City of Hiram  
  43. City of Jackson  
  44. City of Lawrenceville  
  45. City of Lenox  
  46. City of Lovejoy  
  47. City of Madison  
  48. City of McDonough  
  49. City of McRae-Helena  
  50. City of Metter  
  51. City of Monticello  
  52. City of Nashville  
  53. City of Peachtree City  
  54. City of Peachtree Corners  
  55. City of Perry  
  56. Town of Pine Mountain  
  57. City of Port Wentworth  
  58. City of Powder Springs  
  59. City of Quitman  
  60. City of Riceboro  
  61. City of Rincon  
  62. City of Santa Claus  
  63. City of Savannah  
  64. City of South Fulton  
  65. City of St. Marys  
  66. City of Statesboro  
  67. City of Stockbridge  
  68. City of Sugar Hill  
  69. City of Suwanee  
  70. City of Tifton  
  71. Town of Toomsboro  
  72. City of Union City  
  73. City of Valdosta   
  74. Warner Robins  
  75. City of Watkinsville  
  76. Town of Waverly Hall  
  77. City of Young Harris 

Back to Listing