Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program

Posted: August 23, 2019

Deadline: September 27, 2019

Grantor: Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)

Additional Information

The Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program (LB21) supports developing a diverse workforce of librarians to better meet the changing learning and information needs of the American public by enhancing the training and professional development of library and archives professionals, developing faculty and library leaders, and recruiting and educating the next generation of library and archives professionals.

All applications must designate one of the following project categories:

  • Lifelong Learning
  • Community Catalysts
  • National Digital Infrastructures and Initiatives

To be eligible for the Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian program, you must be either

  • a unit of state or local government or be a private, nonprofit institution that has nonprofit status under the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended
  • be located in one of the 50 States of the United States of America, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, or the Republic of Palau.

In addition, you must qualify as one of the following six types of organizations:

  1. A library or a parent organization, such as a school district, a municipality, a state agency, or an academic institution, that is responsible for the administration of a library. Eligible libraries include public libraries, public elementary and secondary school libraries, college (including community college) and university libraries, private or other special library, but only if the state in which such private or special library is located determines that the library should be considered a library for the purposes of the Library Services and Technology subchapter (see 2 U.S. C. 9121-9165).
  2. An academic or administrative unit, such as a graduate school of library and information science that is part of an institution of higher education through which it would make application (see section A4c and A4e above for additional conditions of eligibility that might apply regarding institutions of higher education)
  3. A digital library, if it makes library materials publicly available and provides library services, including selection, organization, description, reference, and preservation, under the supervision of at least one permanent professional staff librarian
  4. A library agency that is an official agency of a state or other unit of government and is charged by the law governing it with the extension and development of public library services within its jurisdiction
  5. A library consortium that is a local, statewide, regional, interstate, or international cooperative association of library entities that provides for the systematic and effective coordination of the resources of eligible libraries, as defined above, and information centers that work to improve the services delivered to the clientele of these libraries
  6. A library association or library organization that exists on a permanent basis; serves libraries or library professionals on a national, regional, state, or local level; and engages in activities designed to advance the well-being of libraries and the library profession.

Award Details

  • Planning Grants: up to $100,000.
  • National Forum Grants: up to $150,000.
  • Project Grants: up to $1,000,000.
  • Research Grants: up to $500,000.

Program Contact
Tim Carrigan
Senior Program Officer
Phone: (202) 653-4639

Back to Listing